Grills in Zionsville?

Mmm….grilled food…

I was reading the paper early yesterday when I ran across a reference to a local grilling store, Grillmaster's Garden. How in the world have I missed this? It's been there for four years, a store full of grill goodies, and I've driven by it without a thought.

Anyway, I went up there after work last night. It's in an old house and garage on Main Street in Zionsville. They have a good variety of tools, rubs, and sauces…which is what I'd probably go there for. As for grills, to give you an idea, the Green Eggs are pretty much the cheapest ones they carry, and they offer services to build outdoor kitchens. A gas grill with side wok burner caught my eye, but so did the $7800 price tag!

Behind the store, they have their classrooms, one outdoor and one indoor. For the outdoor one, it's a nice u-shaped bar (seats about 16) around a prep table and grill space. The indoor room had a large gas grill with a massive vent hood. The room had a wonderful smoky smell. They do open classes, and they do private classes. He suggested it as a good team-building exercise for work. 🙂

They had a new product from Lodge in the shop…a cast iron wok. My initial reaction was that this was very cool. On further review, I'm not sure I'd want it. It's very heavy, so it can't be easily moved while hot. It's cast iron, so it's going to heat evenly throughout and hold heat. That's great when you're searing steaks, but not as great for stir fry. Classically, you use the higher sides of a wok as a holding place while you add new ingredients to the base. This technique just wouldn't work well in cast iron, because the upper part of the wok would be almost as hot as the bottom.

Did I mention it was heavy? Did I mention it was a fortune? I think I'll stick with my old, well seasoned stainless steel model.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Tags:

Leave a comment